On-The-Go Baked Oatmeal

I feel as if I turn into Goldie Locks whenever I cook oatmeal.  Either it’s too runny, too stiff, too hot, too cold, too bland, or too sweet.  For me, making oatmeal is always a trial and error process until I figured out a neat recipe for baked oatmeal.  It’s simple to prepare and it only takes 30 minutes to bake!

collageingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup nuts (I used walnuts)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup honey or agave nectar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-2 ripe bananas
  • 1 large apple, sliced (I used Golden Delicious)
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cranberries

Side note:  I originally found a recipe online, but I had to double all of the ingredients because I used an 8 x 11 1/2 inch pan.  To avoid having to double the recipe last-minute, use a smaller pan.

oatmealstepcollage2

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.  
  2. Grease pan well.  Set aside.
  3. In a bowl, mix oats, nuts, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.  Stir well.  
  4. Stir in liquid ingredients.
  5. Slice banana into thin slices and place in pan in a single layer.  Add layer of apple slices.  (It’s okay if you have leftover apple slices, save them for later)
  6. Pour oatmeal over fruit.
  7. Top oatmeal with leftover apple slices and the cranberries.
  8. Bake for 30-35 minutes until top is browned and oatmeal is set.
  9. Cool for 10 minutes.  

Using an 8 x 11 1/2 pan makes about 12 servings and the calories are relatively low at ~150 calories per serving.

Check out the Pin on Pinterest here!

I tweaked this recipe from sohowsittaste.com.

6 thoughts on “On-The-Go Baked Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

