Chocolate-dipped Apple Slices

Chocolate is the one sweet that always seems to satisfy my sweet tooth cravings, but sometimes it’s hard to resist those cravings.  So I decided that the only way to get over these cravings was to just make dessert!  Or at least something that made it feel like I was eating dessert.

You get the best of both worlds with chocolate-dipped fruit: a cure for your aching sweet tooth and an unscathed calorie budget!

chocoapple6
Chocolate almond bark and cocoa powder

Ingredients

  • Chocolate almond bark (2 cubes)
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Cocoa Special Dark)
  • 1 apple, sliced (I used Golden Delicious, but any other type of apple could work as well)

*Note:  You can either slice the apple in wedges or you can cut it into thin, even slices.  I sliced mine thin, so I was able to get about twenty slices.  Also, most of the ingredients I use are from Aldi, so the Chocolate Almond Bark I bought came in 2oz cubes.  If you don’t have an Aldi near you, just make sure you only use about 4oz (113g) of almond bark.

chocoapple7
Unsweetened shredded coconut, sliced almonds, mini chocolate chips, sunflower seeds, and dried cranberries.

Directions  

  1. Pour about 1/2 cup of water into the bottom double-boiler pot, and heat on high until the water is boiling
  2. In the top pot, add in almond bark and cocoa powder
  3. Make sure to stir the chocolate every 2 minutes or so to avoid burning the chocolate 
  4. When chocolate looks shiny and the consistency is smooth, you can begin dipping the apple slices
  5. Place dipped fruit on wax paper.  This is the part where it’s good to have an extra set of hands to help you put on any desired toppings.  If you wait too long, the chocolate will have already started to dry by then and you’ll have to add more chocolate so the toppings will stick (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing… ☺).  
  6. After you have dipped all of the fruit, place them in the freezer on a flat surface for about an extra 5-10 minutes so the chocolate can harden a little faster

After dipping the apples, I also dipped some strawberries and banana slices in the chocolate.  You can substitute in almost every fruit under the sun.  Mangoes, pineapple, blueberries, raspberries, or even oranges are a few fruits I feel would go great with chocolate.

chocoapple10

Like I said before, this is a great way to cure your craving without wreaking your diet.  From the picture below, you can tell that I sliced the apple pretty thin and I just did a basic search to figure out how many calories there were in a whole apple.  One site I found said there were 82 calories per apple, so I just used that number to calculate the calories per serving.  Each chocolate-dipped apple slice came to about 35 calories (without toppings), so you could have 4 slices for 150 calories, guilt free!

chocoapple11

Don’t forget to follow me on Pinterest and Bloglovin’!

17 thoughts on “Chocolate-dipped Apple Slices

  1. The combination of the dark chocolate and fruit are delicious! Thanks for sharing such a heavenly low fat treat. I can’t live without chocolate. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

