Tuna Cakes

I always like a good tuna fish sandwich and I make them pretty much the same way my mom did for me when I was younger.  However, since I don’t eat tuna that often, I thought I might as well try something different.  So when I went to the grocery store, I picked up quite a few cans of tuna.  And after scrolling through Pinterest, I settled on tuna cakes!

tunacakes_2

This recipe is pretty easy.  Tuna fish cakes make for a great lunch or light afternoon snack.

tunacakes5

Total time: ~45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 5oz cans of tuna fish
  • 2 tsp mustard
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (or breadcrumbs)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 stalk celery, chopped
  • ~1/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 mini sweet pepper
  • 1 raw egg, beaten
  • 1 tbsp water (can use water from tuna can)
  • salt and pepper to taste

*Note:  Rolled oats and breadcrumbs have roughly the same amount of calories; I used oats because I couldn’t find any breadcrumbs.

tunacakes_8

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients.
  2. Separate into four balls and slightly flatten.
  3. Place cakes on wax paper and refrigerate for 20-30 minutes so they will keep their shape.
  4. When time is up, remove from refrigerator.
  5. Grease skillet well and turn stove to medium-high heat and allow to heat up for about 5 minutes.
  6. When oil is hot, place cakes in gently.  Allow them to cook for about 5 minutes before turning heat down to medium-low.
  7. Continue to cook for 5-7 minutes then flip.  
  8. Cook for about another 10 minutes.
  9. You can tell if the tuna cakes are done because they will have browned and will be slightly crispy.
  10. Top with fresh tomatoes, asparagus, and spinach!

tunacakes_9

This recipe makes four tuna cakes.  Each tuna cake comes to about 108 calories.  These are definitely worth taking the time to make.  They refrigerate and microwave well, also.  But if you do choose to refrigerate them, make sure that they are stored in an airtight container.  These tuna cakes can last up to 4 days.  I wouldn’t keep them past four days just to be on the safe side!  Enjoy!

17 thoughts on “Tuna Cakes

Leave a Reply

