Cajun Shrimp Pita Pockets

As I mentioned before, I’m all about sandwiches!  To me, they are one of the best ways to satisfy hunger…and add almost any type of seafood and I’m golden.  Seafood has a special place in my heart; I don’t get to eat it often, so it is a special treat.  I decided it’s been long enough since my last seafood fix, so I picked up some shrimp and made a mental note that shrimp Po’ boys were going to be on the dinner menu this week.  Unfortunately, the flatbread I had originally planned to use was nowhere to be found.  I checked not one, not two, but three groceries!  None of them carried what I was looking for (and I wasn’t about to make it from scratch because there are some things you just don’t have time for).  I stumbled upon some pita bread and begrudgingly threw it in my cart.  Even though I didn’t end up making a true Po’ boy, I think it still turned out pretty well!  And as much as I had my heart set on a flatbread, the pita turned out to be a great substitute.

cajunshrimp_10

Ingredients:

For the shrimp

  • 12 oz shrimp (3 oz per person)
  • 1/2 red onion, diced finely
  • 5 tsp paprika
  • 4 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp Old Bay
  • 2 tsp curry spice
  • 2 tsp garlic

*I purchased a 12 oz bag of frozen medium cooked shrimp that had already been peeled and deveined.  To defrost, I rinsed the shrimp with cold water and then allowed it to sit in the water in a bowl for about 10 minutes.  After the shrimp was completely defrosted, I took the tails off.  

cajunshrimp_8
Seasoned with my homemade blackening seasoning

*You may also substitute in Blackening Seasoning in place of the spices I listed above.  I have actually never heard of Blackening Seasoning, but it is essentially the same spices and seasonings I used in my recipe.  

For the remoulade

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 2 tbsp sweet pickle relish
  • 1 tbsp of your choice of hot sauce (I used Dave’s Gourmet Crazy Caribbean Sauce)
cajunshrimp_2
The remoulade: mayonnaise, plain Greek yogurt, sweet pickle relish, hot sauce

Toppings

  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup arugula
  • 1/2 kale
  • 2 Roma tomatoes
  • 1 cup baby carrots, sliced thinly
  • 2 pita pocket rounds ( I used Arnold 100 calorie Pocket Thins)

cajunshrimp_4

*Typically Po’ boys have a coleslaw, but I’m not a huge fan of cabbage so I opted to use some of my favorite salad greens.  If you find that you don’t want such a large amount of greens you can always measure out half of the amount that I used or you can always use the leftover greens for a side salad.

cajunshrimp_7_edited

Directions:

  1. Grease a pan well ( I used about 2 tbsp of olive oil) and place red onions in along with half of the paprika.  You may need to add more olive oil later on.
  2. Allow onions to get soft and then add your shrimp.
  3. Add the remaining spices and seasonings for the shrimp and stir well.  Allow the shrimp to cook on medium-high for a good 10 minutes and then an additional 10-15 minutes on medium.  If you are using a cast iron skillet, cook on medium-high for the first 10 minutes and then switch to medium-low or even low for the remaining cook time.  Depending on how defrosted you shrimp was, you may need to cook for another 5 minutes, but be careful not to overcook as you do not want your shrimp to become rubbery.
  4. While shrimp is cooking, rinse greens and add in carrots.  You also want to prepare the remoulade at this time.
  5. When the shrimp is done, take off of the heat and just assemble your sandwich how you would like.
  6. Enjoy!

This recipe makes 4 servings

cajunshrimp_9
Two servings pictured above

The spice from this Cajun shrimp isn’t the only thing you’ll get a kick out of!  With there only being 300 calories per serving, you can easily indulge in some yummy chocolate or fro-yo afterwards!

Be sure to check out some other great and creative recipes and DIY’s over at Dream Create Inspire:

Dream Create Inspire
2 thoughts on “Cajun Shrimp Pita Pockets

Leave a Reply

