Sunny Side Up Savory Oatmeal

By now you might have noticed that my blog posts go in order from breakfast to dinner (and sometimes dessert).  The last post was about dinner so today’s post will be about the most important meal of the day!  So what’s on the menu?  Oatmeal!  Most people groan at the thought of oatmeal, but not me.  I have it almost every morning, but it is usually the same thing: nuts, shredded coconut, dried cranberries, cinnamon, vanilla, and, of course, peanut butter.  It’s good, it does the job, and it keeps me full until lunch.  Having the same thing for breakfast every day means I don’t have to think about it (which is the last thing I want to do in the mornings).  I just add, mix, and nuke.  However, it is sometimes boring eating the same thing for breakfast every day.  It’s nice to have a change from the usual. This time around for breakfast, I wanted something savory and I immediately thought of oatmeal.  I, myself, thought it unusual that I would crave a savory oatmeal but the more I thought about it, the more it sounded like a good idea.  I logged on to Pinterest (surprise!) for some ideas.  I suddenly saw a pin that caught my eye and I quickly glanced over the recipe.  I just kind of winged it and tweaked it a little to my liking, so without further ado:  Sunny Side Up Savory Oatmeal!

Savory Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used Almond milk)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1-2 baby bella mushrooms
  • 1/8 cup chopped onions
  • handful of spinach and arugula
  • 1 tbsp feta cheese
  • 1/4 Roma tomato, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • some garlic wouldn’t hurt either ☺
1/3 cup rolled oats
1/3 cup rolled oats
PicMonkey Collage
1/3 cup milk & 1/3 cup water

* I find that using both milk and water makes for perfect oatmeal every time.

Directions:

  1. In a skillet, add about 1 tbsp of olive oil and sauté mushrooms and onions.  Cook on high until onions are translucent.  Sprinkle salt and pepper.
  2. While mushrooms and onions are cooking, take out a small mixing bowl and add in the oats.  Then add the milk and water so that the oats are completely covered.  Microwave for about 1 1/2 minutes or until it has a nice loose, yet thick consistency.  You don’t want the oats to be too stiff, so make sure not to overcook them.
  3. Take mushrooms and onions off heat and put in a small bowl and cover.  While the pan is still hot, add some more olive oil and crack the egg in the pan, but make sure not to disturb the yolk.  If the oil in the skillet is splattering, turn the heat down to medium and cook until the bottom of the egg has browned.  
  4. Rinse off spinach and arugula and dry well.

savoryoatmeal_16

Add the spinach, arugula, and tomatoes to the oatmeal.  Then place the onions and mushrooms.  Lastly, you want to add your egg and feta cheese.  Feel free to sprinkle a little bit more salt and pepper if you feel that it needs some more.

PicMonkey Collagefinal

This oatmeal is absolutely awesome!  I questioned whether this was a good idea because you just don’t hear about savory oatmeal, but trust me when I say it is soooo good!  I’ve made it three times already.  My mom was skeptical at first, but after taking just one bite she was sold!

savoryoatmeal_21

Savory oatmeal is at the top of my favorite breakfast list!  I think it would be perfect for Fall and Winter because it is a nice, hearty meal; it’s just one of those things that’s perfect for a crisp and chilly morning.  What’s even better is that it’s only 225 calories so you don’t have to worry about going over your calorie count or “borrowing” calories from the next meal.

Savory Oatmeal
Savory Oatmeal

Be sure to check out my other oatmeal recipe!  It’s an easy, baked oatmeal that is perfect for busy mornings.

I’m also on Pinterest and Bloglovin’!

Follow me here!blogbut

12 thoughts on “Sunny Side Up Savory Oatmeal

  1. Brilliant!! Your oatmeal looks so delicious and tempting, you’ve inspired me to have a savoury oatmeal breakfast tomorrow morning! Thank you! 🙂 P.S. Had savoury oatmeal with sausages or fish with my Indonesian sister-in-law and family. Was great but keep forgetting it as an option, so thanks for reminding me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

