Salmon Summer Salad

I would have to say that salmon is my favorite type of fish to eat.  Unlike a lot of other varieties of fish, (*ahem* – tilapia) it doesn’t have that fishy taste.  The other thing that I love about salmon is that it is a dense fish; whenever I eat salmon, I feel full longer.  Lastly, it’s a great source of Omega-3 fatty acids and B vitamins, which are great for energy and protein metabolism.

I made this salad a while ago and I recently decided to make a post about because it was just so delicious. The acidity from the honey mustard vinaigrette is really what makes the salmon pop!

salmonsalad_15

Ingredients:

for the salad:

  • 1 frozen salmon fillet (I used a brand from Aldi called Sea Queen Wild Caught Salmon Fillets)
  • 2-3 mini sweet peppers, diced
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped
  • 1 baby bella mushroom, diced
  • 1 beefsteak tomato, sliced into fourths
  • Roughly a cup/handful of baby spinach
  • Roughly a cup/handful of Artisan Lettuce by Tanimura & Antle (again, from Aldi)

*Note:  I say roughly a cup/handful of the spinach and lettuce, but it is pretty hard to judge.  I’m a dump cook by nature and by that I mean I just throw things in and taste and adjust as I go along.

salmonsalad_10

for the dressing (serves 2):

  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 2 tbsp yellow mustard
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp sugar (this is optional considering honey will be added)
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon

salmonsalad_6

Directions:

  1. Lightly grease a pan with olive oil and add your beefsteak tomato slices and allow them to cook on medium-high heat until they start breaking down.
  2. Preheat oven to 350°F; place salmon in a greased baking dish; brush the top with a little lemon juice; season with salt and pepper.  (It took about 30 minutes to cook)
  3. Add onions, mushrooms, and peppers to pan and cook until tender.  Let simmer on low heat in the tomato juices until the salmon is done cooking. 
  4. Rinse and dry the spinach and lettuce.
  5. Add the vegetables on top of lettuce, then add your salmon, and, lastly, drizzle about 1/2 of the dressing over top.  

salmonsalad_13

The salad is around 359 calories with the dressing.  However, if you are looking for your lunch to be under 300 calories, you can just ditch the dressing.

salmonsalad_2

I chose beefsteak tomatoes, because they broke down really nicely and made for a juicy vegetable dish.  (I don’t really know what to call the vegetables because it’s not quite a compote and it’s not quite like a sauce.)  So if you opt to have the vegetables serve as your “dressing” the salad comes down to 225 calories.  Either way, with or without the honey mustard dressing, this is easily a great summer salad.

salmonsalad_12

Be sure to check out my other summer salad recipe.  It’s a light, kale salad bursting with berries and flavor!

Check me out on Pinterest and Bloglovin’!

Follow me here!blogbut

One thought on “Salmon Summer Salad

  1. Love salmon. You are right, it has a very “meaty” texture which I love as well. The honey mustard dressing is worth the small amount of extra calories! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

