Classic Picante Guacamole

It took me a while to get with the guacamole craze, but now I’m on totally on board and avocados are a regular in the kitchen.  I decided to try my hand at making my own guacamole and having the mortar and pestle was an even greater motivation to just get up and make some guac!  guac_22Whenever I cook, there’s always a little spicy kick to it because, to me, I find some things bland if my tongue isn’t tingling.  Because the food I make is almost always going to be spicy, whenever I go out to eat I expect everything to taste how I would make it: SPICY!  So the problem that I have with most guacamole that you get in restaurants or stores is that I’m left hanging in the spicy department.  So for today, I made a classic guac with a picante twist!

guac_1

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripened avocados
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 lime squeezed
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes

guac_collage2 guac_collage3

Directions:

  1. Peel the avocados and slice into fourths.  You should end up with eight pieces.
  2. Add in the onions, olive oil, pepper, salt, and red pepper flakes.  Squeeze lime half.
  3. Mash the avocados in the mortar and pestle until everything melds together in a thick and creamy mixture.

guac_15

Whenever I make guacamole, my goal isn’t to get a perfectly smooth mixture; I still like to have little chunks of avocado.  guac_16

I find that using the mortar and pestle makes for a creamier guacamole, but if you don’t have one, I would still suggest that you ditch blenders, food processors, or any other electric tool.  You can simply use a large bowl and a fork or potato masher to get the same results.

This recipe makes 1 1/2 cups of guacamole.  A serving is a little over 1/3 cup for only 150 calories.

guac_22

When I eat my guac with chips, I’m the type of person that pushes the amount of guac a chip can hold (i.e. I load up on guacamole).  However, if you only like a little bit of guacamole or you plan to put it on a sandwich or something else, you can get by with a 1/4 cup of guacamole for only 100 calories.

guac_23
Remember to keep the seeds in the guacamole when storing it for later. I found that it keeps the guac from browning.

I hope you enjoy!

SunChips go great with this guacamole. I picked up some SunChip-style multigrain chips at Aldi that work perfectly.
SunChips go great with this guacamole. I picked up some SunChip-style multigrain chips at Aldi that work perfectly.

Don’t forget to check out my Pinterest and Bloglovin’ pages!

Follow me here!

blogbut

guac_collage_5

Check out the other great recipes and crafts over at Olives-n-Okra:

Olives-n-Okra
You can find me and other great bloggers over at:

10 thoughts on “Classic Picante Guacamole

  1. Plain, with chips or as a sandwich spread, this guacamole recipe is easy and delicious! Nothing beats fresh homemade gauc and I can attest that this recipe is super easy and tasty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

