Black Bean and Avocado Wrap

I’m not going to lie, whenever I hear the word “vegetarian” I sigh a little.  I’m the kind of person that feels a meal is not a meal without meat.  And although I can eat meat-less salads, I’m not happy about it.

wrap_11

When lunchtime came around yesterday and I looked in the fridge to whip something up I discovered that there wasn’t any meat (except the frozen solid chicken breast).  I decided that I could tough it out with a vegetarian lunch.  I grabbed some black beans, brown rice, tomatoes, and an avocado and made it work.  Despite my brain telling me that a meal without meat wouldn’t tide me over until dinner, my stomach said otherwise.  After half of the wrap, I was completely full.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 small avocado, diced
  • handful of grape tomatoes (5), sliced into fourths
  • 1 cup/handful spinach, chopped
  • 1/3 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1/2 cup cooked black beans
  • Flatbread ( My favorite is the whole wheat Flatbread Original from Aldi)

wrap_1

Directions:

  1. Cook the brown rice according to the directions on the box.  I always add a little bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper to mine when it’s cooking just to give it a little flavor.
  2. Warm the black beans in a small saucepan with a little salt and pepper until they are soft.
  3. Spread about half of your diced avocado onto the flatbread.  I do this to prevent the rice and beans from falling out.
  4. Then add your rice and beans.  Finally, add the rest of the avocado.
  5. Top with the spinach and tomatoes.

wrap_collage

This is a super simple and quick lunch or dinner.  It keeps you feeling full for a long time.  You really only need to eat half of the wrap and then just pair it with some fresh fruit, yogurt, or veggies.  One serving (1/2 of the wrap) is about 205 calories.

wrap_10

You can check me out and other great recipes and crafts over here:

Fiesta Friday

The Country Cook

Follow me here!blogbut

14 thoughts on “Black Bean and Avocado Wrap

  1. I just love all the bright colors you were able to incorporate into this vegetarian dish. Plus, the mix of flavors sounds delightful.

    Thank you so much for bringing banana-y bread to the fiesta this week! Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

